- Catholic Common Ground Initiative - https://catholiccommonground.org -

Cardinal Joseph Bernardin Award

Each year, the Catholic Common Ground Initiative honors an individual or group that has made a unique contribution to the achievement of common ground in the church.  The honoree’s(s’) work has made an impact on a significant number of people and set a precedent or example of building common ground in the church.  The recipient of the award also embodies the dialogical and consultative approach to leadership of the late Cardinal Joseph Bernardin in working towards unity in the church.  Past recipients of the award include the following:

Award Recipient: John Carr [1], Director of the Initiative on Catholic Social Thought and Public Life at Georgetown University
Award Recipient: Sr. Doris Gottemoeller, R.S.M [2]., Chair of Partners in Catholic Health Ministry  


Award Recipient: Most Rev. Ricardo Ramírez, C.S.B., D.D. [3], Bishop Emeritus of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Las Cruces, New Mexico


Award Recipient: Sr. Helen Prejean, C.S.J. [4], Founder of Ministry Against the Death Penalty


Award Recipient: C [5]arolyn Y. Woo, Ph.D. [5], President and CEO of Catholic Relief Services


Award Recipient: Rev. Donald Senior, C.P., S.T.D. [6], President Emeritus and Professor of New Testament Studies at Catholic Theological Union


Award Recipient: Zeni V. Fox, Ph.D. [7], Professor of Pastoral Theology at the Immaculate Conception Seminary School of Theology at Seton Hall University


Award Recipient: Most Rev. Daniel E. Pilarczyk, S.T.D., Ph.D. [8], Archbishop Emeritus of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Cincinnati


Award Recipient: Rev. J. Bryan Hehir, Th.D. [9], Parker Gilbert Montgomery Professor of the Practice of Religion and Public Life at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University and Secretary for Health and Social Services for the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Boston


Award Recipient: Sr. Catherine M. Patten, R.S.H.M., Ph.D. [10], General Councillor of the Religious of the Sacred Heart of Mary


Award Recipient: Sr. Carol Keehan, D.C. [11], President and CEO of the Catholic Health Association of the United States (CHA)


Award Recipient: Most Rev. Gerald F. Kicanas, S.T.L., Ph.D. [12], Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Tucson


Award Recipient: Eugene J. Fisher, Ph.D. [13], Associate Director of the Secretariat for Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs at the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB)


Award Recipient: Most Rev. Wilton D. Gregory, S.L.D. [14]Archbishop of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Atlanta
Award Recipient: Boston College, The Church in the 21st Century Center [16]
Award Recipient: Dolores R. Leckey [17]Senior Research Fellow at the Woodstock Theological Center
Award Recipient: Most Rev. Harry J. Flynn, D.D.Archbishop of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis
Award Recipient: National Council of Catholic Women (NCCW) [19]




Award Recipient: Sr. Helen Prejean, C.S.J. [4]


Award Recipient: Sr. Helen Prejean, C.S.J. [4]